Brownfield Land Register

The Government requires local authorities to prepare and maintain a register of brownfield land that is suitable for residential development.  

The Brownfield Land Register is in two parts:

Part 1

Part 1 is a list of brownfield sites:

  1. that are of least 0.25 hectares or capable of supporting at least 5 dwellings;
  2. that are suitable for residential development;
  3. that are available for residential development; and
  4. where residential development of the land is achievable.

Part 2

Part 2 includes those sites identified in Part 1 that the Council has decided should be granted ‘permission in principle’.

Burnley’s Brownfield Land Register

The Brownfield Register can be viewed and downloaded below. There are no entries in Part 2.