Council Structure

The Borough is divided into 15 Wards with 3 Councillors representing each Ward, making a total of 45 Councillors.

The Labour Group and Liberal Democrats Group have formed a partnership administration and hold all 6 seats on the Executive.

cllr Afrasiab Abwar

Leader – Councillor Afrasiab Anwar

portrait of Cllr Sue Graham

Deputy Leader and Resources & Performance Management
Councillor Sue Graham

Cllr John Harbour

Housing & Environment
Councillor John Harbour

cllr mark townsend

Economy & Growth
Councillor Mark Townsend

Cllr Shah Hussain

Community & Environmental Services
Councillor Shah Hussain

cllr margaret lishman

Health & Well-being
Councillor Margaret Lishman

The Council seats

  • Labour: 19
  • Liberal Democrats: 8
  • Conservative: 6
  • Green Party: 6
  • Burnley & Padiham Independent Party: 4
  • Vacancy: 2

Find a full list of Council seats on

Organisational Structure

See more details on the Council’s organisational management structure.