Council Structure

The Borough is divided into 15 Wards with 3 Councillors representing each Ward, making a total of 45 Councillors.

cllr Afrasiab Abwar

Leader – Councillor Afrasiab Anwar

portrait of cllr Margaret Lishman

Deputy Leader
Resources & Performance Management
Cllr Margaret Lishman 

porttrait of cllr scott cunliffe

Executive Member for Sustainable Development and Growth

Cllr Scott Cunliffe

portrait of cllr howard baker

Executive Member for Community and Environmental Services

Cllr Howard Baker

portrait of cllr lubna khan

Executive Member for Housing and Development Control 

Cllr Lubna Khan

portrait of cllr Jack Launer

Executive Member for Health, Culture and Wellbeing 

Cllr Jack Launer

The Council seats

  • Burnley Independent Party: 11
  • Labour: 11
  • Liberal Democrats: 7
  • Conservative: 7
  • Green Party: 7
  • Independents: 2

Find a full list of Council seats on

Organisational Structure

See more details on the Council’s organisational management structure.